Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for Dinner- Steak and Eggs Rancheros

What I love about cooking?  You can follow a recipe and come out with a great dinner that you didn’t have to think up on your own.  If they only had a recipe for how to live your best  life, then you wouldn’t  have to figure that out either.  Tonight’s Rachael Ray dinner was something I was too tired to cook and one I really didn’t think my kids would eat…I was wrong! Dinner was a corn tortilla covered with an ancho chili sauce, topped with a guacamole salsa & steak, with a fried egg on top.  Wow! 

  Kayt, my 10yr old daughter, got the privilege of grocery shopping with me today. She was thrilled, not really, but let’s just go with that.   Now that my kids are in school I usually have the luxury of shopping  alone, however it was just yesterday that I was pushing the double stroller with twin babies and pulling the grocery cart while making sure my three-year old was around somewhere.  Times change in the blink of an eye.  Kayt pushed the cart today and she  learned how to gently press on avocados to check for ripeness.  I forgot to check if we had fresh cilantro at home so when I ask Kayt if she remembers if we have any she says “Mom, can you really ever have too much cilantro?”.  So we bought more. She’s a work in progress with huge potential. 

There is always something we need to Google, today it was flat-iron steaks.  What we learned – it’s a cut of steak from the shoulder of a steer.  It’s a relatively unknown cut of meat that was discovered recently.  Ironically, I live in Kansas City, cowtown USA, yet the grocery store didn’t have any….so petite tenderloin steak it is!  The recipe also calls for ancho peppers which I learned last week are dried and found in the produce section and can be found at any Wal-Mart in Overland Park or Joplin. 

I was not excited about cooking tonight since I had just made 10 dozen cookies for a cookie exchange/ competition that I won first place in two years ago.  I didn’t win this year.  However everyone knows Rachael Ray doesn’t bake either so we have that in common. I did learn that parchment paper is amazing when it comes to baking cookies.  I did say I would cook whatever Rachael Ray made until May, so I’m cooking!  Why? To learn something new everyday. 

So glad I did cook, the smell of fresh lime & cilantro always makes you happy.  Instead of grilling in the dark I just used the George Forman grill, which worked really well for cooking the steak.  This recipe calls for multitasking.  I’m cooking steak, cooking corn tortillas in oil, reconstituting the ancho chili’s and chopping up onions and avocados for the salsa all at the same time.  It really makes you live in the moment to focus on not  messing  anything up, which is kind of relaxing, too.  It’s like skiing down a really steep mountain, all you can focus on is getting down without falling.  All your thoughts have to be put on hold. 

Everyone loved dinner, especially Kayt. I think when kids are involved in helping make dinner they are more open to eating it.  They take ownership, and isn’t that a life lesson we want to teach all our kids.  I would make this for breakfast, lunch, dinner, Thanksgiving dinner…whenever.  

Steak & Eggs Rancheros

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

