Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Que Pasta? Mexican Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

When I logged on this morning to see what was for dinner, I was a little disappointed.  Not with Rachael Ray, love her, but that the show was a rerun.  I had made this recipe in September and it wasn’t a favorite, however I know there is always room for improvement in every aspect of life.  So I decided to try try again with no ingredient compromises or just very few. 

As everyone who reads this blog knows, there are always ingredients I have to Google to understand what they are.  Thank God for smart phones!  That’s the difference between Julia Child’s era and my era, women have all the info they need at their fingertips and “that’s a good thing”. Isn’t that what Martha Stewart says?  Ingredients of the day: Chorizo- it’s basically pork sausage with paprika and is served all over Spain.  I couldn’t find any so I got pork sausage and just added paprika, one compromise.  Queso Asadero- this is a Mexican cheese traditionally used to fill chiles rellenos. It’s white or pale yellow and is mild tasting & melts easily.   Cotija cheese- this is a cow’s milk cheese that originated in Mexico and is named after the town Cotija.  It is dry in texture, sharp & salty.  It does not melt. Ancho chili peppers- these are dried poblano peppers.  The first time I made this recipe I just used poblanos.  BIG MISTAKE!  Apparently this is that one ingredient you can’t compromise on.  I found them at Walmart after going to 4 grocery stores.  You do have to reconstitute them in chicken broth then puree them, you can see why I thought a fresh poblano pepper would be just fine the first time. Trust me, the ancho chili peppers are a must!

Rachael’s recipe called for either queso asadero cheese or Cotija.  Question of the day….to melt or not to melt.  I decided I would go with the cheese I find first.   I found neither so went with Manchego cheese which is basically just like the queso asadero. It does melt easy but not ideal for grating at all. Of course never ever skip on the fresh herbs. The spaghetti was topped with fresh cilantro and scallions, just say “life is too short for dried cilantro”.

Tyler the teenager gave it an 8.725 on a scale of 1-10, and that, my friend, is amazing that he even commented!  Mexican spaghetti is now one of my favs too.  No one else was home to eat.  We want our kids to have their  own happy lives with lots of friends, and when they do, we are a little sad because they are gone all the time or there are a million kids at my house and no one wants to hang out with mom. Wonder what’s for dinner tomorrow?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tiffany Kopp says:

    I love how you make lemonaide out of those lemons.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Sammie says:

    What a great blog. How do I get the recipe? Do I click on something? BTW I watched Julie and Julia this weekend and loved it!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
    • Thanks for your comment! All Recipes can be found at rachaelrayshow.com I always watch the show then cook what she makes, it’s like taking a cooking class from her, love it!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

