Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for dinner? Quesadilla Casserole

Once again today’s episode of Rachael Ray was a rerun.  Not to worry, there is always room for improvement when you cook a recipe the second time. I remember the first time I made this and thought it was so easy….long story short, at the end when you broil the casserole just for a few minutes to melt the cheese on top, I got distracted and left it in a little too long.  It was ruined.  That’s what you get when you think you have it all under control.  So tonight I paid more attention – well as much attention as you can pay to cooking dinner when you are helping with homework, doing laundry, trying not to trip over the dog and answering the phone.  Yes, my dog knows when I am cooking a Rachael Ray recipe and she is under my feet just waiting for scraps.  I used to have 3 year olds under my feet and now it’s a dog.  Which is better? Debatable, the dog does a better job at cleaning the floor, 3 year olds just made more crumbs on the floor. 

This was one of the times I didn’t have to Google anything on my phone while grocery shopping;  I actually knew what all the ingredients were. However, there was a debate last time I made this between all the other desperate housewives in my neighborhood over green enchilada sauce.  Some people thought it meant color, others thought green referred to how hot the enchilada sauce was.  This is where watching Rachael cook the actual recipe comes in handy.  She did say “a nice mild green enchilada sauce” so I think everyone was right.  Btw, the mild enchilada sauce I bought was green.  The cheese used was just a simple Monterrey jack.  What was interesting,  I broke my Pampered Chef cheese grater that I had started using instead of buying cheese already shredded because it relieves more stress to just shred it myself. I broke it by squeezing it too hard.  Could that be the possible inner strength that gets you through all of life’s situations or are all those hours spent at the gym paying off?  

We did end up eating “island style” which sounds really exotic.  It  just means eating at the island because the kitchen table has  folded, clean laundry all over it.  Two out of three kids did make it to dinner and the discussion involved firing your mom cause she didn’t buy any toaster strudel at the store for breakfast.  Really. 

island eating

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Shelley Kirk says:

    Love your blog…

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  2. * Tiffany Kopp says:

    I so love island eating it’s my way of life! Please call me and I will come over and indulge on your island sometime! I will even bring the foo-foo drinks and some for the little ones. Love ya!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

