Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for dinner…..Osso Bucco

Today’s dinner was a challenge but not one I couldn’t overcome.  First of all I had no idea what Osso Bucco was.  It is basically an  Italian recipe staple that consists of veal shanks, carrots, onions, garlic and gremolata.  And yes, I had to Google what gremolata was, too.  Gremolata is a chopped herb condiment made of parsley, garlic, and in Rachael Ray’s recipe, orange & lemon zest with roasted chopped pine nuts.

The other mystery ingredient today was saffron threads.  Google….saffron comes from the saffron crocus, a flower.  It takes 225,000 hand-picked stigmas, which is the middle antenna part of the flower, to make a single pound, making the it the most expensive spice. Of course I couldn’t find it in any grocery store.  I eventually found it at an Indian market.  It was $70 for a little bit or $150 for a little bit more.  So I then Googled what was a good substitute for saffron, and turmeric it is!!! 

This recipe was not quick. It cooks for two hours after you get it in the oven.  I burned the pine nuts the first time so I did have to do that twice, that’s what you get for folding laundry in between and letting the dog in and out, in and out. 

The kids did like it.  Amazing.  I got more joy out of cooking it rather than eating it.  I don’t think veal is a favorite of mine.  However, at least now I can say I can cook Osso Bucco.

Leave a Reply

