Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for dinner- Steak on a Stick with Horseradish Sauce

It’s pouring down snow and I’m grilling steak.  Nothing better than grilling year-round!  This recipe was another repeat, and you know the second time I make a Rachael Ray recipe it usually comes out better.  I didn’t have to Google any ingredients while grocery shopping so I was in and out in less than 15 minutes.  My kids were sooooo excited to have something normal but I did have to promise to make Kraft mac n cheese with the steak.  What is funny about that is that I got distracted by, well, life, and cooked the macaroni too long.  It got really mushy and there were complaints.  How can I go from making Osso Bucco one night to messing up mac n cheese that comes from a box?  Failure is inevitable some times, but not ultimate. 

The one thing I missed the first time in this recipe is brushing the steak with Worcestershire sauce right before you take it off the grill. It did make a difference. The horseradish sauce was really good but I’m not sure about adding in the breadcrumbs and applesauce.  I didn’t love the texture but it was overall pretty good. 

Again, never ever settle for anything less than fresh herbs.  I used fresh chives tonight.  No fake food in my house, except mac n cheese from a box. 

Leave a Reply

