Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for Dinner….Croque Monsieur

Google says “Croque Monsieur”  is a hot ham & cheese, typically made with Gruyère cheese.  Waiting until I was 38 to discover Gruyère cheese is one of my life regrets. This cheese is named for the Gruyère valley of Fribourg, Switzerland.  I made a Rachael Ray mac-n-cheese with Gruyère back in September and that is when I fell in love with it. Have some with a nice glass of chardonnay and call it a marriage made in heaven.Since this is just basically grilled ham and cheese you wouldn’t think I would have to research any ingredients…wrong.  I didn’t know what kind of bread Pullman loaf was.  Really, how did we ever live without the internet?  It’s made with white flour and is called the “sandwich loaf” or “pan bread”.  The bread is named after the famous Pullman railway coach of the US, scary I’m learning history while cooking.

Cooking was easy and the highlight was the bechamel sauce.  This sauce is made of butter, flour, milk, salt & pepper and just a hint of nutmeg.  I think it can best be described by saying it’s so good I would bathe in it. You put the sauce inside the grilled ham & cheese before you grill it.  A sauce inside your grilled cheese, brilliant.What I learned by cooking Rachael Ray today…….by taking time to use high quality ingredients a simple grilled ham & cheese can become Croque Monsieur, therefore I think your life gets better with the more high quality moments you fill it with. That’s the answer of how to achieve true happiness, just fill your life with high quality moments,  it’s that simple.

The kids said it was the best grilled cheese they ever had, priceless!! What was even more priceless is that it is Friday night and we got to have a quick, really good dinner before everyone parted ways.  Who gave these kids permission to  grow up and have their own lives?To sum things up, life is too short for cheap wine, bad cuts of meat and now low quality cheese! I’m off for the weekend with lots of leftovers. What will Monday bring?

Croque Monsieur

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tiffany Kopp says:

    I agree fill your life with high quality moments!! You make me hungry and hungry for life. Keep up the good cooking, you always give me a good smile. Just had a good egg nog! Love ya.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

