Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for Dinner….Enchilada Suizas and Green Rice

My goal…to cook whatever Rachael Ray makes on her talk show everyday until May 28th or whenever the kids get out of school for the summer.  Today was a day when I wondered what I had gotten myself into.  Some days life is so busy it’s easy to put off something you enjoy doing because there is just to many other things that you have to do. My new motto – “stop trying to live your life like your trying to survive it, no one does”.  What is life if you don’t enjoy it?  So I changed my attitude and was excited to cook tonight because it’s a Mexican recipe and I have really enjoyed cooking something new everyday.   

I should have known when I had to Google what “Suizas” meant that this recipe would not be simple. Suizas means Swiss-style. 

Starting with the shopping experience.  Simple ingredients and all fresh.  When I was checking out the cashier did ask me what the small green tomato-like things were.  I told her “tomatillos, they are a husk-tomato cultivated in Mexico and are used in a lot of Mexican recipes”.  I would have never learned what they were or even cooked with them if I hadn’t started this whole cooking journey. It’s amazing the stuff you learn along the way.  They are also very low in calories.

 There were a lot of steps to follow in this recipe, so I just poured a glass of wine and moved ahead.  I have learned that prepping before you start is a huge time saver.  So I chopped and shredded, always a great way to get out life’s frustrations and after Christmas shopping all day with the rest of America and cooking a billion cookies, I had some. 

First step: roasting the poblano peppers.  You basically put them in the oven with the broiler on, char them on all sides, then put them in a glass bowl and seal with plastic wrap until they cool.  Then peel and seed them.  Since August, when I started cooking Rachael Ray,  I have done this three times.  Let me tell you it really does get easier with each time and it is soooo worth it! You can buy roasted peppers but that is just not as much fun.

I blanched the chicken which I will say is the first time I have ever done that in my life.  Basically you put the chicken in a pan and fill with water just enough to cover the meat but don’t submerge.  Bring it to a boil and then simmer until done.  After blanching you just shred it up with two forks.  I could see many uses for shredded chicken, once again thank you Rachael for teaching me this!

I had to use the food processor twice.  First to puree the tomatillos, cilantro and the juice from one lime.  Then to puree chicken stock , fresh spinach, cilantro and scallions to add to the rice to make “Green Rice”.  Really takes your rice to the next level. 

After one more Christmas party, begging my children to just take their picture with Santa and a  horse-drawn sleigh ride thru the neighborhood to look at lights …dinner was amazing.  I will have so say the difference is in all the details.  I have made enchiladas many times but these were the best.  The kids all gave it a 7 on a scale of 1-10.  Really?   Only a seven?    The best part of this experience is seeing how excited my kids are for dinner.  Kayt even invited her neighbor Madi over for dinner so she could  be in on rating of this Rachael Ray recipe. Once again making dinner and eating dinner was such a joy, and to think about the moments I would have missed if I had just ordered a pizza on this hectic day!

What’s for tomorrow?  Croque Monsieur.  Well, let’s just call it a fancy ham and cheese sandwich!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jo Ann Burgar says:

    Would really like the recipe that R.Ray did last week…a cherios stoup that had
    chicken, meatballs, garbonzo beans, leeks, parsley, noodles, etc. I purchased the Mexican cherios and was ready to go…but can’t find the recipe on the Ray website… does anyone know where I can obtain this recipe? Thanks…

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    • Do you know the exact name of the recipe? I can research it for you.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Madeline says:

    Hey Tracy – I just discovered your blog and love your idea! I included a link to you in my weekly Rachael Ray Roundup. I was the same when when I started cooking Rachael’s recipes – so many new techniques and ingredients made it a definite learning experience.

    Tomatillos are one of my absolute favorite ingredients. Once you are done with talk show recipes, you have to try Tilapia with Tomatillos and Avocados with Maque Choux (called John’s Fish in her cookbooks). It’s outstanding!

    Good luck with your journey!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    • Thanks so much Madeline!!! You made my day! I am totally going to try the Tilapia. Love your site!!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

