Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for Dinner…Bolognese with Pappardelle

I am so grateful that I don’t have to think about what is for dinner anymore, I can’t stress that enough.  Now all the energy I spent trying to plan out all kinds of different meals goes into cooking all kinds of different meals.

Just saying the name of this recipe is so romantic, maybe it’s just the italian flair, isn’t Italian the language of love?  By the way you pronounce it pa-par-DAY-lay if you are like me and didn’t have a clue.

Shopping for the ingredients has definitely gotten easier.  I did google pappardelle. It’s a flat ribbon pasta with a wave edge that works well with a rich sauce.  I couldn’t find any and since today was one stop shopping (kids are home for winter break) I went with fettuccine.  The recipe said you could use either. To make it healthier I should have used whole wheat pasta, but I didn’t.

Pancetta and ground pork are part of the sauce.  This may be a blonde moment but is ground pork the same as ground pork sausage?  I’m just gonna say probably.

All the other ingredients on the list have become staples in my kitchen since I started cooking Rachael Ray back in August.  EVOO, garlic, onion, tomato paste (which I prefer in the tube when I can find it), fresh thyme, oregano, white wine and stock of some type. Today’s stock was beef. Don’t forget about fresh Reggiano parmesan, that’s always in the fridge too.  And of course when I cook with white wine I always have just a little to make the cooking experience that much better.

I watched my cooking teacher, Rachael, prepare this meal with Christian Slater and that just made the recipe even more romantic. How do you say Oh la la in Italian?

The tip I noticed today from the show was to throw some salt over your shoulder after you add it to the pot. She always does this.  I don’t know why this is the first time I have paid attention to that particular move.  After all I am always telling my kids to pay attention because it’s free.  I think I am really truly a very lucky person and I have never thrown salt over my shoulder when I am cooking.  Rachael Ray does and look how far she has come in life.  Hmmmm, I think I am going to start throwing salt!  Can I throw it over my shoulder into the sink?  Will my dog lick up the salt right after it goes onto the floor?  Who cares, I just throw it, no over analyzing.

I am cooking tonight in brand new Rachael Ray pans that are bright orange.  They make you happy to just look at them.  Add that to my on going list….life is to short to cook in black and stainless pots & pans.

I really liked the sauce, it was shall I say not to saucy and very flavorful. Easy to make however not a “pretty” sauce.  I added extra red pepper flakes to mine, the hotter the better.  Kayt and Foster, the 10-year-old twins, gave it a 2 and 7 (scale of 1-10).  Of course they are extremely tired from sleepover’s, sledding and snowboarding so I’m not sure how valid the score is.  I would give it an 8 but it could have been a 10 with some really great bread to soak up the sauce, I should keep that on hand too.

Bolognese sauce with fettucine

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Teresa says:

    I love Rachael’s Bolognese. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

