Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Cream Cheese-Stuffed Bagel Sticks

Tonight my daughter cooked Rachael Ray.  My experience will be written after hers.  Here is what she had to say about it:

My name is Kayt.  I’m Tracy’s daughter (10-year-old, one of the twins)  and tonight me and my friend Maddy made the food. Now Maddy and I are doing the blog. My mom did all the shopping. First we got the cream cheese and strawberries and the next batch with scallions. We chose the music- Crazy Train, and more, with our itouches.Maddy told me an interesting story about how in Arkansas at her playground scallions would grow wild and kids would make each other eat them (they didn’t know what they were) Kayt tried a scallion plain, which had no taste.tyler was waiting with a plate for the food.Now the rating.Foster gives it a ten.Maddy give it a 8.Tyler says I do not know. I give it a 5 .I did not like it a lot. Me and Maddy thought it was fun cooking the cream cheese stuffed bagel sticks.It is fun writing the blog.

My (Tracy’s) experience:

I choose to make the cream cheese-stuffed bagel sticks because today’s show was a repeat and I had already made the palomillo steaks last time it aired.  The kids are home for winter break so I thought it would be fun to just let my favorite daughter Kayt take over the kitchen.

She invited a friend over to help her because that is just what you do when you are 10,  friends are always involved.  What happens to that concept when you are 38?  Oh yeah, your life gets way to busy with everything else to keep track of really good friends, not just the acquaintances of classroom moms and my kids’ friends’ moms. but really deep friends.  That is one of my New Year’s resolutions…..deep friends must be part of the mix.

They did it all from cracking the eggs for the egg wash to sealing up stuffing inside that pizza dough.  There were two choices for the cream cheese-stuffed bagels – scallions and a strawberry preserve mix.  The girls made both.

Music was a big part of cooking tonight.   The hot gift item for all the 10 year olds in the neighborhood was the Ipod touch.  No need for Toys R Us, just go to the Apple store to buy all your Christmas presents.  Since the invention of the Ipod, I think music transcends generations.  We listen to everything from “Crazy Train” (Ozzy Osborne) to some Lynyrd Skynyrd to Beyoncé.  Another interesting choice “I Make Those Good Girls Go Bad” which is currently in the top 40.  Views of this song from a 10-year-old girl’s perspective to the 38-year-old mom’s are polar opposites.  We also listen to songs about tequila and love stories.  I can’t ever let these girls out of the house again!

All kinds of things to say about scallions tonight.  I believe Maddy’s story is above.  What can we say about things growing wild on playgrounds across America?  Oh my.

They both decided they didn’t like sesame seeds and cooking is “back-breaking work”.  Really girls.  We are just stirring up cream cheese with scallions and some strawberry preserves.

When everything was in the oven it was finally time to dance.  See, you can cook your way to happiness.

The kitchen is a wreck,  the music is really loud and the kids are even louder……pure bliss in the kitchen tonight.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Indian Recipes Indian cooking To start off with an accolade | Amazing Recipes pingbacked on 14 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. * Sammie says:

    For some reason these looked gross when she made them on her show Rach took them out of the boling water. I just had no desire to make them. I guess we all can’t like everything. Thanks for posting.

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 3 months ago


Leave a comment