Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Chicken Divan and Egg Noodle Bake

It’s Tuesday and early release from school,  Rachael and I are cooking Chicken Divan and Egg Noodle Bake……well I am watching her make it then I am making it later in my kitchen.

I was a little heart-broken when Rachael had a guest on the show that is also cooking Rachael Ray everyday.  Rachael said she was the only one that had written into the show that was doing this.  It’s really ok.  I’m not going to stop, I am truly enjoying this whole experience and I didn’t start it just to be on the show………however, it is a dream to visit NY and to cook with Rachael Ray, but nevertheless I am cooking my way to happiness and it’s working.

Chicken Divan and Egg Noodle Bake is basically a casserole, which when I think casserole I think throw everything in a 9×13 pan and stick it in the oven right?   Nope.

First I always start with the ingredients.  Nothing too complicated.  When I first started I would have had to Google “Gruyere” cheese but I have since evolved.  By the way, it’s the most incredible cheese ever!

Lots of pans going at once on the stove which makes me focus on just living in the present and making sure nothing gets burned.   However, remember it’s early release so kids are home.  I help Foster with a book report as I keep a watchful eye on all the pans, chop things, stir things, not trip over the dog under my feet and watch the replay of Rachael in the distance.  Another day in paradise!

Boiling the egg noodles is the easy part.  Rachael actually used the same water that she blanched the broccoli in.  I have to admit that was something I cheated on.  I just couldn’t handle all the tiny pieces of broccoli in the water while my egg noodles cooked.  I just steamed the broccoli in the microwave…….oh my goodness, does Rachael even use a microwave?

The sauce is basically a “bechamel sauce with mushrooms running thru it” that is how Rachael described it.  I have grown to be very fond of bechamel sauce.  It’s simply made from butter, flour, whatever you put in your coffee (Rachael said that, too) and just a little nutmeg.  Well, luckily this morning I put half and half in my coffee.  I don’t usually have half and half but I had to use some last week in a recipe and bought a little extra to just indulge a little.

After sauteing shalots (like onions but smaller) and chicken tenders in one pan, you add it to the mushrooms and bechamel sauce.  Add that mixture to the egg noodles, put that in the 9×13, top with Gruyere cheese then finally put it in the oven.  Just enjoy the journey.

Dinner was pretty.  Twins wouldn’t eat it so they made there own sandwiches.  Tyler teenager did eat it but picked out the bigger pieces of broccoli.  I liked the bite I took of it.  I had a dinner meeting out so I couldn’t eat twice.

Leave a Reply

