Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Deep Winter Minestra- Beans and Greens Soup

It’s degrees outside, a heat wave compared to zero degrees.  Rachael’s making Deep Winter Minestra so that is what’s for dinner!

The grocery store trip was a little bit difficult today.  A couple of things I needed to research.  I Google lacinato or Tuscan black kale.  Lacinato kale is sweeter than a regular kale.  Tuscan black kale features deep blue-green broadly strap-shaped leaves with a puckered surface.  The kale I saw at the grocery store was only labeled “kale”.  It was dark green in color and the only type of kale so it will have to work.

I still have never found fresh nutmeg to grate.  I wonder if any of my fellow desperate housewives have some in their pantry that they have brought back from their travels like the saffron.  I just used the nutmeg you find in the spice section.

What I loved about this recipe….it is all cooked in one pot and it can simmer for hours so if people need to eat at different times, that’s ok.

The soup starts with EVOO and smokey bacon.  When the bacon is crispy add the mushrooms to brown. Then add onions and lo’s of garlic (4 big cloves).  The kale is cut in long strips and de-stemmed.  Wilt the kale in the pot after adding beef stock, cannellini beans and 2 cups water.

My house smells amazing.  This is one of the best soups I have ever had.  The kids were a little skeptical, but they all ate some.  I served it with Italian bread to soak up the soup.  I learned that “soaking up the soup with bread trick” from Rachael.  Love it!!! Top the soup with lots of Pecorino cheese.  I added red pepper flakes to mine because I always like a little extra heat.

I would have to say the soup just made you feel all snuggly inside.  Better than being on the couch in front of a fire in a snuggie (which I have not ever purchased but they look cozy).  I will add it to one of my winter favs!

Super easy to make and very good for you.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    No fresh nutmeg in the pantry right now – would have been glad to share if there was. Sometimes you can find it in the produce section where they have other specialty items such as candied ginger and pine nuts. Soup sounds and looks yummy!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Chuck St. Charles says:

    Looks good, Trace! And snuggly’s look good too!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Tiffany Kopp says:

    WOW now this sounds good. I love kale which thankfully from my dear sister in law and her fine taste in organic food is where I learned of my love for kale. Not only good but sooooo good for you!! Always looking for things you can cook with kale!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  4. * Teresa says:

    Sounds wonderful! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

