Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Decadent Pumkin (Butternut Squash) Gnocchi

I have no clue what Gnocchi is first of all.  Really how did we ever survive without google or Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.  Gnocchi (pronounced noki) is the italian name for a variety of thick, soft noodles or dumplings.  They may be made from semolina, ordinary wheat flour, potato, bread crumbs or similar ingredients.  The word gnocchi means “lumps”.  This is the new ingredient I am cooking with today.  I found it in the freezer section with other frozen pasta.

I decided to use butternut squash instead of pumpkin just because I like it better and Rachael said you could.  The last time I chopped up butternut squash was a disaster.  I remember it well, I was at my mom’s house cooking and all her knives are dull (that was just one of the problems).  Today I’m in my kitchen with very sharp knives.  I have learned from my experience that it is easier to first chop off the ends or the squash, then cut off the outside skin and then cut it into smaller pieces.  After the squash is cut up you just pour on some EVOO, salt and pepper and throw it in the oven to roast.  I have also learned from past experience to not roast the butternut squash, covered in Evoo, in a 400 degree oven.   When you roast something in EVOO in an oven that hot, you get a very smokey house! (sorry I had to learn that at your house mom).  I roasted the squash at 350 degrees, much better.  I do think the smell of roasting butternut squash is very soothing.  It has become one of my favorite comfort foods this winter which is good because the older I get the less mac n cheese I should be eating!

The sauce for the gnocchi is made of EVOO, fresh garlic, fresh sage, fresh nutmeg, white wine (yipee)  and whipping cream.  Well so much for feeling good about eating butternut squash.  I would say that fresh sage must be what heaven smells like.  I am also thrilled to report that I did find fresh nutmeg to grate and if you are following this blog you know that is a big deal.  It was at hy-vee with the spices in a jar, its whole so you just grate as needed.  The difference between grating it yourself and just using already ground nutmeg is HUGE.  Add that to my list of life is to short for.  Life is to short not to use freshly grated nutmeg.  The recipe didn’t tell you when to add the nutmeg or sage,  sometimes these are the details that you get by watching Rachael make it, no worries.

You blanch fresh spinach in the same water you cook the gnocchi in.  A really great cooking tip from Rachael, double duty water, and fresh spinach in any pasta dish…..delightful.

You put everything together and wow….a masterpiece that was really very easy to make.  It’s a keeper. I loved it and highly recommend a nice chardonnay to serve with it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Teresa says:

    Yum! This sounds delish. 🙂 I love, love, love roasted butternut squash.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

