Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Palomilla Patty Melts with Yellow Mustard Slaw

Not to excited about cooking today, possibly because the kids are home from school again and it is difficult focusing on anything.  Where has my peaceful house disappeared to?  I think I remember years ago (or last week) when I would look forward to cooking Rachael Ray dinners alone in peace,  listening to music and finding the joy in cooking.  Kids go back to school tomorrow.  I will be missing them by 8:30am.

Tonight Palomilla Patty Melts.  Rachael always makes an incredible burger, another thing I love about her.  The Palomilla puts a Cuban spin on the burger/patty melt.  The burgers are seasoned with cumin, onion, garlic, fresh cilantro, oregano, salt & pepper.  Melt  Swiss cheese on top and serve on a good quality toasted, buttered bread.  I used sourdough. 

The yellow mustard slaw was surprisingly good.  Simply start with a slaw salad mix which you can buy in the produce section.  The dressing is mustard, dill relish, honey, vegetable oil, salt and pepper.  It reminded me of a honey mustard sauce. 

I think I didn’t have a lot of joy in cooking today because I didn’t use any new ingredients and didn’t learn any new  techniques.  I still loved not having to come up with what’s for dinner and my family did experience a new recipe so that was all very positive……..worth it.  Of course there was no real excitement,  I think the weather is getting us all down…….sunshine were are you?

Dinner was good, just not on the “can’t live without it” list.  Can’t wait to see what I am cooking tomorrow, hopefully it is something I have never heard of and is really difficult to make, can you believe I just said that? 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheryl says:

    I can’t do a patty melt without the sauteed onions. I just can’t do it. Also, I prefer it done the tradional way on buttered rye bread in a frying pan. YUM.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

