Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Bacon, Leek and Tomato Spaghetti

New favorite!  This is the perfect go to dinner.  It’s easy to make, clean up, not to mention cheap to make and it’s made with BACON.  In my opinion everything is better with bacon, not turkey bacon, but the real thing. 

The kids were excited because they thought I was just making traditional spaghetti, which did used to be a staple at our house, but that was so last year.  This is a Rachael Ray recipe ………. much better than any Ragu.  You start with EVOO and add bacon to crisp.  I do think it’s a little strange to be crisping bacon in EVOO.  Doesn’t the bacon have enough grease of its own?  I trust Rachael, obviously she knows what she is doing.  When the bacon is crisp you add fresh garlic.  I used 4 cloves (Rachael and I both love a lot of garlic).  Then add leeks.  I have never cooked with leeks before, I didn’t even know what leeks were, so of course I Googled it. The edible part of the leek plant is a bundle of leaf sheaths.  You slice them lengthwise and then wash them in a bowl of water while separating the layers.  Leeks have a mild onion-like taste, although less bitter than scallions.  Some describe the taste as a mix of mild onion and cucumber.  They have a fresh smell similar to a scallion, it reminds me of summer.  I have decided that I like leeks.

After the leeks are softened in the EVOO and garlic you add the tomato sauce.  I just used an organic tomato purée instead of whole tomatoes in a purée which is what the recipe called for.   My kids don’t like chunky bits of tomatoes so this is the one compromise I sometimes make for them.  You let the sauce simmer while you cook the pasta.  I used whole wheat spaghetti.

Serve it with fresh basil and lots of Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese  on top.  It is a very pretty sauce and very flavorful.  It is……….. happiness.  Kayt picked out the leeks, Foster liked them and Tyler teenager wasn’t home to give his opinion but I think he would have liked it. 

I loved it, it’s a must download.

Leave a Reply

