Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Bacon and Horseradish Mac-n-Cheese with Cauliflower

It’s Friday night and I only have one kid home and he is playing Call of Duty online with his friends, again, who gave these kids permission to grow up and get lives of their own?  All the more reason for tonights dinner.  bacon and Horseradish Mac-n-Cheese with Cauliflower……it gives me goosebumps to just say it, the ultimate comfort food.

I am cooking this recipe to take to a party for mom’s of 7th grade boys, and when you are the mom of a 7th grade boy you could always use some comfort food.  I remember what it feels like to be in 7th grade and all the relationship/ awkwardness / hormonal issues.  Watching your child go thru these things is such a mix of emotions.  My heart hurts  every time he get’s a girlfriend and then the relationship ends, at the same time I don’t want him ever to have a girlfriend or get married or move out.  It is easier sometimes to  just focus on what’s for dinner.

I am crisping bacon yet again in EVOO…..I have grown fond of this process, what is better than the smell of bacon cooking?  To me it always brings back memories of breakfast on a lazy Sunday morning’s.  When it is crisp remove the bacon to a plate, putting a paper towel under the bacon to absorb some of the grease. 

Bring salted water to a boil in a big pot.  Cook the cauliflower until it is tender and remove it with some sort of slotted spoon to a colander.  Use the same water to cook the cavatappi (corkscrew shaped hollow pasta).  Thank you Rachael Ray for teaching me this tip of double duty water, it really is a time saver and I feel like I am “being green” by reusing the water, even if it isn’t that much water. 

Then comes the sauce…..Besciamella.  It’s the simple cheese sauce that Rachael and I make all the time…..I could make it in my sleep!  Simply start by melting butter, whisking in flour, milk, FRESH nutmeg, and salt & pepper.  I did get a new razor-sharp hand grater specifically for grating up the fresh nutmeg.  When they say razor-sharp, they mean it.  I did grate some of my finger but no need to worry, it didn’t get in the sauce…..just a small hazard of trying new things.  After the sauce thickens add in extra sharp cheddar cheese to melt.

Mix everything up in an oven safe dish, top with more extra sharp cheddar cheese and broil to melt and brown just a little bit on top.  Hmmmm, I got a little distracted and it may be a little more brown on top than it should be.  I am sure it  will still taste good!

Everyone at the party loved it and it does pair nicely with a chilled chardonnay!  Buy the way….the Rachael Ray show called today, the video that I made of me making the Pesto Presto Chicken might be aired on Monday!  Mark that off my list of dreams coming true this year!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Teresa says:

    What awesome news! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Lana says:

    Awesome job Tracy!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

