Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Spinach, Artichoke and Chicken Penne

It’s January 25th and I’m still cooking Rachael Ray everyday!  It was a pretty great day since I was actually on the Rachael Ray show today, only for 4 seconds and not actually in person, it was just a clip of a video they had me make, but it was still great!  What I loved most was hearing Rachael actually introduce me…….and seeing the expression on my children’s faces when they actually saw me on TV, that was priceless.  They couldn’t believe that I was actually on, even for 4 seconds.  There is no better feeling on earth than having your children watch you meet a goal, even if it is small.  Actions speak louder than words and I really hope I am teaching them how important it is to have goals, even small ones…..and acheive them.

Tonight’s “What’s for Dinner” is a spin on Spinach Artichoke Dip.  Spinach, Artichoke and Chicken Penne.  I do think cooking with Rachael Ray has really become a habit.  I can almost guess what ingredients I will be using and I am more relaxed about cooking, it’s almost like an obsession which is kind of funny…….. I am a desperate housewife obsessed with cooking dinner.  It could be worse, I could be obsessed with the gardner.  My family is not complaining about all the cooking either!

I used whole wheat penne and poached the chicken.  I learned how to poach chicken not to long ago,  it’s just one of the many things I have learned from this experience.  You simply put chicken in a pan and add water to the top of the meat but don’t cover. Cook about 10-12 minutes then shred with a fork.

The sauce is very easy to make.  Basically it is a béchamel sauce (a basic butter, flour and milk sauce) with onion, artichoke hearts, spinach, garlic and Asiago cheese.  Pour the sauce over the penne, add the chicken and top with fresh grated parmigiano-reggiano.

This recipe should be a staple recipe in your house if you love Spinach Artichoke dip!  I don’t think it will be a staple in my house because I like Spinach & Artichoke dip but it is kinda of bland for me and there are just to many other recipes I love.  The kids were not thrilled about all the spinach which was frozen not fresh, I prefer using fresh and they will actually eat fresh spinach too.  Maybe I would like this recipe better with fresh spinach.  I think I will try that next time.

Dinner was  good for so many reasons……It tasted good, I enjoyed cooking it, I didn’t have to plan it and just because we were all at the dinner table together.  After dinner I had some of the girls over for a “watch party” and a glass of wine.  All for 4 seconds on national tv?  Any excuse to get together with friends……..and have a glass of wine.  And WOW…..I was on the Rachael Ray show!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Carole says:

    You didn’t call me!!!!! and I missed it. Rats!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Stephanie says:

    You didn’t call me and I missed out!!! Maybe I can find it on her website.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Teresa says:

    Awesome! How exciting for you. 🙂 I’m sorry I missed the show. Hopefully they’ll put it online.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

