Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Turkey Burgers with Cranberry-Pomegranate Sauce

“Some days are just terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days” to quote the book I just read to favorite daughter Kayt.  The only thing more moody than a 38-year-old woman going thru a slight mid-life crisis is a 10-year-old girl trying to just figure out life. 

Sometimes I’m just not in the mood to cook……but life goes on and the kids need fed so I am cooking anyway.  Tonight’s  “What’s for Dinner” is Turkey Burgers with Cranberry-Pomegranate Sauce. 

Bad grocery store day.  Nothing exciting to Google and learn about and 3 stores later I find out that  fresh cranberries are seasonal and it’s not “cranberry season” here in the midwest.  So I improvise, if you can call it that.  I use canned cranberry sauce that says “whole berry” cranberry sauce.  When I start to cook I find out it is just the typical jellied cranberry sauce, my least favorite thing in the whole world…….well maybe.

Rachael always makes great burgers, very innovative.  These burgers kind of have a Thanksgiving flare because they are made with turkey and topped with a cranberry sauce.  The traditional Thanksgiving dinner is my least favorite holiday dinner. 

I chop up shalots to season the turkey…….I always feel a little better after using my Pampered Chef chopper.  Add fresh sage, parsley, rosemary and thyme.  Well, they were all fresh except the sage.  That makes me wonder were does sage come from.  I Google and then I realize I bought fresh sage just last week….. how could I forget?  Oh yeah, because I have to remember everything else in the world.  I did learn from Google, however, that you should always choose fresh sage over dried because it is an antioxidant, antibacterial, anti-viral and anti-fungal.  Wow!  Who knew?

The improvised cranberry-pomegranate sauce is simply the canned cranberry sauce, pomegranate juice and some shalots.  The shalots were only in there because I chopped them up and accidently put them in the wrong pan…….just a bad day. 

Of course the burgers have garlic, salt and pepper, too.  Cook the burgers.  Melt some sharp cheddar cheese on top, that makes me a little happier.  Serve them on english muffins that are buttered then toasted in the oven, a little more happiness.

The sauce is spread on to one side of the toasted english muffins and add a little lettuce. 

The kids did actually like this, well two out of three were home so two did.  I thought is was pretty good, I like it more just because it is a creative spin on a turkey burger.

Still grateful that I didn’t have to plan this meal, the kids didn’t hate it and make a pb&j for their dinner and it was pretty easy to make. 

What I learned from cooking today……..terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days happen, even in Australia, but cooking does bring a little more happiness to my life even on days like that.

Leave a Reply

