Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



5 Ingredient Meal: Tortellini Soup

It is 12 degrees outside and I have made (and eaten) a lot of pasta this week, however I’m not complaining!  All of the pasta recipes have been worth the extra time on the treadmill this week and tonight’s was no exception……5 Ingredient Tortellini Soup, trust me, just go download it now! (Rachaelrayshow.com)

 The snow is coming down like crazy…..this has been the longest winter ever.  I did some downloads today for my  iPod so I am excited that I can listen to some new songs while I cook, my brother in-law will appreciate this since he thinks I listen to all the same stuff over and over again.  This is my favorite thing to do on Friday nights……cook, listen to music and drink just a little wine in the process (from 18 to 38 things change drastically).  

Foster (10yr old) is sick and watching a movie, Kayt (10yr old) has a friend for a sleep over and Tyler teenager has his first boy/girl party tonight that starts at 8 and ends at 11.  I am not sure what to think about that so I am just processing that while I cook.

Dinner was so incredibly easy and just sooooo good.  Bring a quart of chicken stock to a boil and add tortellini, I used fresh tortellini which is available in the refrigerated section of the grocery store.  I have just been learning about how to sort coupons and two major categories to sort by are refridgerated and frozen, how come I never thought of that?

After the tortellini has cooked add a bunch of spinach, the zest from one lemon, salt & pepper.  That’s it.  Serve with some Parmigiano-Reggiano and some really good italian crusty bread. 

I did add a little fresh garlic and some red pepper flakes too. 

Great Friday night dinner!  It was easy to make, easy to clean up and easy to serve to everyone that is eating at different times.  I loved it and it will be a staple in my house!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * koppt1868 says:

    WOHZA!!!!! Looks good and we know what your favorite songs are!!!! Mom fixed a RR meal tonight and wants you to know that 30 min meal took her 2 hours. (and 4 hours of clean up) We know she gets fixated on the clean up process!!! She asked me also 5 times what that cheese was, Parmigiano-Reggiano. I told her it’s that that fake powder stuff in her frig!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Teresa says:

    Sounds yummy! Just the kind of recipe I like – quick, easy and made with stuff I keep around all the time! Might try this one for lunch today, especially if this rain turns to snow like they say it will.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
    • This is the best soup ever….keep the recipe for all the cold days!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

