Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Barbecued Chili

February 1st and I’m still cooking with Rachael Ray, wow, I really didn’t think I would last this long……it’s been 7 months.  Well it’s a great day for chili since it is once again snowing.  Tonight’s dinner is Barbecued Chili.

Easy ingredients….nothing to google. First start by crisping bacon in EVOO.  Then remove the bacon and brown the sirloin.  I actually used ground turkey since I did just book a girl’s week for my 39th birthday at the beach and every time I go to Target and see bathing suits I am reminded that I will be in one of those soon. I will be cooking Rachael Ray at the beach too, my friends are very excited. 

When the turkey (or whatever you end up using) is browned season with Worcestershire sauce and add an onion and 3 to 4 cloves of garlic.  Then just add the chili powder and paprika and some beer.  I didn’t use the whole beer so of course I put the rest in a frosted mug for me which reminded me of summer and then I remembered that I would be in a bathing suite on the beach soon, I was glad that is was only a little beer.

Reduce the chili down just a little then add chicken stock, red wine vinegar, brown sugar and tomato sauce.  Bring to a bubble and then simmer. 

Favorite daughter Kayt made the corn muffins to serve with the chili even though she says she hates corn bread….interesting.  Rachael added scallions to the corn bread mix, amazing, how come I never thought of that?

The chili was very different from your traditional chili, it did have a sweet barbecue flavor.  Everyone added cheddar cheese to their chili.  $ out of % people gave the chili a thumbs up.  Kayt didn’t like it or the corn bread either…..I’m sensing a theme with her tonight.

I’m still thrilled that I didn’t have to think about what was for dinner and it was easy to make and clean up……all things that make me happy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheryl says:

    OK……….Where’s the salmon? It’s been awhile since she cooked some good/real food and now there’s no post!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    • I am just a little late getting the post out, just updated it, the salmon with really good with the glaze!!!!!!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

