Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Smokey Maple-Glazed Salmon Supper

Feb 2nd, still cooking.  I can tell spring is coming soon because it is still light outside at 6:00,  there is hope,  however, not looking forward to swimsuit weather…….I should start working on that.

I am looking forward to tonight’s dinner because I love salmon and Rachael is making a complete dinner with sides included.  I usually buy salmon at Sam’s club but today I just bought it at the grocery store I bought all the other ingredients at to save time since my afternoon is filled with a PTO board meeting and it is a bored meeting (after 4 years of serving on a PTO board somewhere I think it is time for me to move on).  Back on the subject…..the salmon I bought had skin on it.  I just can’t eat fish with skin on it, I mean I know it’s fish but I don’t have to be reminded of that.  I am not good at skinning fish either,  thanks Mike for doing that. 

I bought real carrots and frozen peas to sauté.  My kids have always only liked canned carrots, they say the real ones are “just to crunchy”.  Well……taste change as you get older so sorry kids, you are now considered older.

Cook the rice according to package directions, I used brown rice.  Then add watercress.  I have never cooked with watercress and of course I had to google it.  Watercress is a member of the cabbage family and has a peppery, tangy flavor.  Rachael say’s that when you add it to the rice it can take the place of a side salad……brilliant since my kids won’t eat a side salad!

The smokey maple-glaze sauce was really easy to make and I think would be really good on a porkloin too.  Simply bring to bubble 1/2 cup dark amber maple syrup, some vinegar (I used red wine vinegar) and a splash of liquid smoke.  Then turn the heat off and wait for the salmon to finish.

Season one side of the salmon with Old bay Seafood, salt & pepper than place face down in a pan with EVOO.  Brown, then flip and season the other side.  When it is done, pour on the sauce and then broil in the oven to caramelize.

Meanwhile, sauté chopped up carrots in EVOO, then add the peas, chives and butter.  You are then supposed to add this to the pan before you caramelize the fish but I must have missed seeing this on the show or reading this…..oh well, don’t sweat the small stuff.

Rachael was right, this dinner is a good as anything you would eat in a restaurant.  There was a lot of things going on at once but dinner only took about 30  minutes.  I  give it a 7, if it wasn’t for the issue with skin on the salmon it would have been a 10.  The kids did not love it, but they liked it!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    This salmon recipe sounds yummy! Is that why your house smelled so good the other night? I’ll have to give this one a try some time.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Sheryl says:

    That plate looks amazing and delicious too!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Gina Lomus says:

    It is mouth-watering just reading your post. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I was wondering what kind of salmon you normally buy at Sam’s Club? Do you happen to know if it is farmed salmon or wild salmon? I have read that wild salmon has higher Omega-3 content and astaxanthin in it. I live in a remote area in Arizona so unfortunately I don’t have ready access to Sam’s and it’s not always easy to find good salmon so I order it online. I read at http://www.order-salmon.com that Sockeye salmon is one of the best kinds of salmon you can eat because of its higher Omega-3 content.

    One other great thing about salmon is what it does for your skin and skin tone. I read at http://www.order-salmon.com/buy-salmon-caviar.php that salmon is a “rare dietary source of DMAE, the natural human neurochemical proven to help improve muscle tone in the face, thereby reducing wrinkles.” Another good reason I guess, why salmon has become so incredibly popular.

    A big ‘thumbs up’ to Mike for skinning the fish.
    Gina

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    • Love salmon but it seems to get more expensive every day!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

