Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Beef Pot Pie Wedges

I am back in Joplin cooking with my mom.  Tonight we are making Beef Pot Pie Wedges and no this is not what was on the show today.  My mom didn’t like what they made on the show today and since she is getting ready to have a major back surgery she got to pick what to make….as long as it was Rachael Ray.  This recipe is in Rachael’s March magazine.

Last time I came to visit the first thing my mom said to me was “You mean we really do have to cook what she made on the show today” .  Times have changed.  Today my mom got all the ingredients together and put them in little bowls so they would be ready to go.  I guess this is what it feels like to have your own prep kitchen.

This recipe is pretty simple to make.  Brown skirt steak in EVOO, or any thin steak (I used a thin strip steak), then remove from the pan and melt some butter.  Add Mushrooms to soften, then onion and garlic and then finally the peas.  Add a little flour and beef stock to thicken. 

Use two ready-made pie crust and cut each of them in half.  In each half add the steak mixture then fold over and add an egg wash on top.  Then just bake. 

I think I have made something similar to this before with Rachael.  Delicious!!!!  How can you go wrong with steak and pie crust.

Here is the amazing thing that happened.  Mom actually cooked the whole thing…….. she just took over.  I feel like I have inspired my mom to cook!  She even said she wish she had gone to culinary school……it’s never to late mom and you made an incredible Rachael Ray dinner!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheryl says:

    That looks like a good recipe! Good luck to your mom. My husband had back surgery in 2003 and he is so much happier.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago
    • Mom is doing good, recovering and looking forward to summer. I hope this does the trick for her like it did for you husband!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

