Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Tuna Melt Frittatas

First of all I am not a big fan of tuna unless it is in a spicy tuna roll (sushi).  I did not want to make the tuna melt frittatas, but I said I would make whatever Rachael Ray was making every night so I am making the tuna melt frittatas.

Rachael said this was a bld……something you can make for breakfast lunch or dinner, how funny is that.  By the way I think pizza is a bld too.  Start the frittats by melting butter and EVOO in a skillet, again not sure why we need both but I’m good with it.  Chop up potatoes (I used Yukon gold, just like Rach).  Add potatoes, shallots and garlic to the skillet and cook until the potatoes are tender. 

Meanwhile, beat together eggs, a little milk and a little hot sauce.  Pour eggs into the skillet with the potatoes and stir in the herbs, fresh chives and thyme.  Put the tuna in a bowl and separate with a fork.  Add the tuna to the eggs, spreading around evenly.   Cook until the eggs are set and then transfer to the oven (which is on broil) to brown the top.  After the top is a golden brown,  smother it with swiss cheese.

Serve with buttered english muffins. 

I don’t like tuna but I loved this.  Really….I did.  Rachael said you could use crab instead of tuna to make it fancy and I agree that would be really good too!

This is why it is beneficial to try things you think you don’t  like…..taste change.  None of the kids would go near this…..it’s ok, I still love them. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sheryl says:

    I like tuna but this one grossed me out at first but based on your review I may just give it a try (but I may sub the tuna—-it’s just a method after all and I love a REAL tuna melt. LOL)

    Rachael has millions of recipes you can choose from. She also stresses that she’s really teaching a method and not a recipe. So you can choose whatever you like.

    From her talk show I learned the method of stuffed pork tenderloin. It’s a great method and I use the ingredients that I want to use (I always slather with the mustard and honey though like she did before stuffing). It’s so easy and so fast and figure friendly too!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

