Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



John’s Red Wine Risotto with Sausage and Rabe

There is still snow on the ground and the kids are out of school again, not for a snow day but for Presidents day.

I am a little behind on posts but still cooking.  John’s Red Wine Risotto with Sausage and Rabe is a MUST download.  Really easy to make and really great!!

No clue what broccoli rabe is so of course I google it.  According to Wikipedia broccoli rabe also known as rapini and is a common vegetable in the cuisines of Southern Italy.  Rapini has  many spiked leaves that surround a green bud which looks very similar to a small head of broccoli.  There may be small yellow flowers blooming from the buds which are edible.  The flavor of rapini has been described as nutty, bitter, pungent and “an acquired taste”.  Now you know.

In a medium pot start warming chicken stock, this will later be spooned into the risotto one ladle at a time.  In another medium pot start boiling some water to cook the rabe.  In a large skillet (yes, lots of pots on the stove at one time) over medium-high heat add EVOO, about 2 tablespoons, then add sausage to brown.  I used mild sausage because the kids don’t like spicy but I would have rather used spicy which is what the recipe calls for. 

Drop the chopped up rabe into the boiling water to soften, then spoon out with a slotted spoon adding it to the browned sausage.  Add garlic, fresh nutmeg, salt and pepper.

In yet another pan, a high sided medium skillet, add EVOO and soften onion and garlic.  Add a cup of Arborio rice and cook until lightly toasted.  Then add @ a cup and a half of red wine.  I don’t drink red wine so I had my neighbor Lisa over and poured her a glass of red wine while I cooked.  The kids were gone to a birthday party so I was alone and it is always really great when your neighbors can just pop over to visit.  I had a glass of chardonnay with her and we listened to the live version of “Free Fallin” by John Mayer because we are going to see him in concert in March!  This was just a little sunshine in my day…..it was needed since it has been snowing on and off all day.

Back to cooking….when the rice is lightly browned add the wine and reduce, then spoon in the chicken stock, one ladel at a time.  Then add Pecorino cheese to the risotto.  This whole process takes about 18 minutes.  Serve the sausage and broccoli rabe over a bed of the risotto. 

Lisa loved it, I loved it…you will love it.

I won’t be cooking for a couple of days and will completely miss it.  My mom is having surgery in St. Louis so my sister and I will be stuck in hospital time for the next couple of days and you just can’t cook in a hospital room.  I think the hospital is the only place you can do nothing for hours at a time and be completely exhausted when the day is over.  I am sure we will be watching a lot of Rachael Ray on tv however!  I think this weekend I will have a Rachael Ray cook-a-thon and make all the meals I missed this week. Feel free to join me,  it’s always more fun to cook with friends and I always have wine on hand.

My thoughts on Valentines Day…..if we all just told each other we loved each other and didn’t buy all the “stuff” and put all that money to the national debt….how many years would it take to pay off?

Leave a Reply

