Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



What’s for Dinner…Ranch-Style Chicken Chili

I’m finally back in KC after a long week in St. Louis helping care for my mom after having back surgery.  Thank you for all your positive comments, it is so nice to be missed.  I know I have not cooked a Rachael Ray recipe in a whole week.  I have made it thru cooking since August with some crazy weeks,  but I can’t perform miracles…..no possible way to cook in a hospital room, which is too bad because hospital food is not good. 

 As my mom taught me….take the bad with a little bit of good.  While I spent endless hours in a hospital room where time stands still, I did get to eat a lot of really great Italian food.  The hospital is located right next to the Italian “hill” in St Louis.  Tons of great authentic Italian restaurants were wine is just included with your meal.  My favorite…..fried garlic cloves and spaghetti with pesto.  I did come home with a little carb addiction that I am working on breaking……and I am back to being in perpetual pain from the gym, thanks Casi…I just love doing lunges on the treadmill.  Not.

Back to cooking.  It is Sunday night and I don’t usually cook on the weekends but I just missed it so I couldn’t wait till tomorrow.  I mean why put off till tomorrow what you can do today.  I just picked a recipe from last week’s show.  It is still snowy and freezing outside so I thought the Ranch-Style Chicken Chili sounded like a winner…..and it  is!  Just go download it www.rachaelrayshow.com

Start by charing the pablano peppers in the oven on broil.  If you have been following this blog you know I mastered  this months ago.  Char the peppers, turning them to char all sides, then let cool in a bowl covered with plastic wrap.  Peel, seed and then finely chop.

Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat with approximately 2 tablespoons of EVOO.  My mind starts to wonder where did the term Dutch oven come from?  I’m going to google that.  Ok that was a blonde moment, now my 13-year-old and I are laughing hysterically…..it’s good to have older kids at these moments. Google it, you will know what I mean.

After the EVOO is warm add ground chicken.  I used ground turkey because the grocery store had just sold the last two packages before I walked in.  That, my friend, is the difference between shopping in the morning during the week and shopping with the rest of the world of Sunday afternoon. Brown the chicken/turkey and then season with salt & pepper.  Add the onion and garlic and cook 5 minutes.  This makes me think about that fried garlic I had in St Louis……pure bliss but don’t  have on any night you kiss (I made a rhyme).  Then season with cumin and coriander and stir in the chopped charred peppers (say that seven times in a row).  Add stock and herbs and simmer.  I really missed smelling fresh herbs this past week.  The smell of fresh dill is sooooo much better than the smell of a hospital.  Add hot sauce to taste. 

Turn off heat and stir in some sour cream.  Serve with tortilla chips for dipping.  I chose to use tortilla chips with a hint of lime.

Tonight’s dinner was incredible….as Foster (10-year-old twin A) would say “it was more like a soup than a chili”.  Everyone loved it, even though Tyler teenager wouldn’t admit it.

Easy to cook, easy to clean up….and that is the name of the game.  I give it a 10!!!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Welcome back!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

