Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Broccoli and Cheddar Mac n Cheese

I have spent the last couple of days (or four)  in St Louis at the hospital once again and as I have already said there is just no way to cook anything in a hospital room,  this is the only excuse I will use to not cook Rachel Ray everyday.  Mom is doing good, they checked her out today and now she is in a hotel room for another week were her husband will have nurse duty.  I am recovering from being woken up hourly and smelling like a hospital, it’s all good.

I am exhausted but I feel obligated to cook the broccoli mac n cheese Rachel made on the show today.  My kids were not very excited.  Sorry kids but I love you enough to get you to try new things everyday……you will appreciate me when you are married with your own kids!

Basically this is a mac n cheese made with a sharp cheddar cheese bechamel sauce.  Those of you following this blog know what the bechamel sauce it…butter, flour and milk then mix in the cheese of your choice. In this recipe add garlic to the cheese sauce too.  I grated it with one of those handy-dandy hand graters…..it’s been a long time since my fingers smelled like fresh garlic, missed it, so good to be back.   Cook a whole wheat pasta al dente then add in broccolini with the pasta for the remainder of the cooking time.  I had never even heard of broccolini till a couple weeks ago and know it is one of my favorites.   That is what I love about  this whole cooking experience.  You try new things and if you love them…they become part of your everyday life and make living so much better.

Basically combine the pasta and brocollini and cheese sauce and call it a day!  Easy clean up and I loved it.  1 out of 3 kids liked it. 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Amy says:

    Welcome back, again!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

