Cooking my way to happiness with Rachael Ray



Warm Provencal Chicken Salad

Tonight’s “whats for dinner” is a warm Provencal chicken salad.  I was not really excited about this recipe but watching Rachael make it on her show today helped inspire me.

Start by coating potatoes, onions, crushed garlic and lots of s&p.  Roast about 45 minutes turning once.  Then you are supposed to roast green beans or asparagus, tomatoes and pitted olives (coated with EVOO) for about 30 minutes.  Call me crazy but I just roasted everything together.  I did forget to get olives at the store so I used artichoke hearts and I picked asparagus over green beans.  I also skipped the tomatoes because they are not in season yet and when you come from the midwest and know how great home-grown tomatoes are you don’t ever buy tomatoes or eat them when they are not in season.

Meanwhile, season the chicken with s& p and EVOO.  Cook the chicken in a cast iron skillet.  Instead of chicken breast I used chicken tenders because they cook more quickly and it saves you the step of cutting up the chicken after it is cooked. 

While the chicken cooks you make the dressing.  THE DRESSING MAKES THE  DISH!  In a food processor place shallots, fresh sage leaves, fresh marjoram, 2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard and s&p.  Pulse chop the mixture then stream in about 1/4 to 1/3 cup EVOO to form a pesto-like sauce. Fresh herbs equals happiness.

To serve layer arugula (or any cold salad greens), roasted vegetables and chicken.  Top salad with the dressing and toss.  Serve with a crusty baguette.  I served it with a rosemary garlic bread.

Yes I was skeptical in the beginning, but loved dinner.  Kids didn’t hate it either….which in my world that is complete success! I would say this is a keeper so go download it. 

Leave a Reply

